2017 Annual Meeting

of the Decision Sciences Institute

Category: 2017 Annual Meeting of the Decision Sciences Institute

Paradigms for Parity in Advancing Women Leadership in Supply Chain and Operations Management

Women are increasing entering operations and supply chain management (SC/OM). Yet the pace of advancement of promising women into leadership roles is too slow. This session develops multiple paradigms of the challenges and opportunities for the SC/OM field to bring gender equality into its upper echelons—Full Professor rank, Endowed Chair, Professional Society Fellows, Sr. Editorial Leadership, etc.–by 2025. Senior female and male academic scholars will discuss the issues and strategies for changing the dynamics. We will conclude with a challenging agenda that has the potential to make the 2025 goal a reality.

Behavioral Research and Experimentation in Operations Management

Behavioral Research and Experimentation in Operations Management – This workshop will discuss research in behavioral operations management (BOM) and the state of the field. We will discuss topics, questions and methods best suited to BOM. This year, we will have an extended discussion on techniques for conducting experiments. This includes practical principles of good experimental design and implementation.

Best Practices in Planning a US Regional DSI Conference

Each of the five regions in the United States Decision Sciences Institute holds an annual conference. This panel will bring together representatives from each of these regions to share ideas about best practices in planning and hosting a successful conference. Topics will include marketing strategies to maximize attendance, maximizing use of the local area through plant tours or other local speakers, pros and cons of holding a joint conference with other similar professional organizations, motivating your team of track chairs, optimizing communication with participants, and finding the best deals for hotels and catering. Panelists will share inside tips based on what they have learned from recent experience.

Make Plans Now!

DSI 2017 Annual Meeting November 18 – 20 in Washington, D.C.

Innovative Decision-Making: Research to Practice

Make plans now to attend the DSI 2017 Annual Meeting taking place November 18 – 20 at the historic Washington Hilton Hotel!  The theme this year is Innovative Decision-Making: Research to Practice. Our three-day format will be packed from morning to night with innovative sessions, informative workshops, merited recognition and, of course, lots of networking. Registration check-in will open on Friday, Nov. 17 and the conference will close with the President’s Reception and Award Dinner on Monday evening, Nov. 20.  Be sure your travel plans allow you to experience all the conference has to offer. Plus, you’re in WASHINGTON, DC! This powerful city offers unparalleled sightseeing and off-site excursions. Add a couple extra days to play “inside the beltway!”

 

Deadline for submissions is fast approaching. The full paper submission deadline is May 15 and abstracts, panel proposals, workshop proposals and Award Competitions are due by May 30. There will be no extensions.  Go to https://convention2.allacademic.com/one/dsi/dsi17

for detailed submission information.

Research Tracks welcome submissions focusing on developing new knowledge across all functional areas of business.  Papers in these tracks are ideally positioned for publication consideration by Decision Sciences Journal or other high impact business journals.  Panels in these tracks focus on identifying emerging research topics and methodologies.

TRACKS

  • Accounting
  • Business Analytics
  • Buyer/Supplier Relationships
  • Consumer Behavior
  • Decision Analytics in Public Management and Governmental Operations
  • Decision Models in Operations
  • Decision Making in Practice
  • Decision Models in Sourcing and Logistics
  • E-Commerce Technologies and Strategies
  • Economics
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Finance
  • Healthcare Management
  • Humanitarian Operations
  • Information Security Information Systems and Technology
  • Innovation and New Product Development
  • Global Operations Management
  • Lean Manufacturing and Quality
  • Logistics and Transportation
  • Managing Risk in Supply Chains
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing and Social Media
  • OM/SCM in Emerging Economies
  • Organizational Behavior
  • Project Management
  • Service Systems
  • Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Strategic Management
  • Supply Chain and Revenue Management
  • Technology and Innovation

Education Tracks invite full papers, abstracts, and panel proposal submissions focusing on developing new knowledge pertinent to the design, delivery, and evaluation of business curricula. Papers in these tracks are ideally positioned for publication consideration by Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education or other business education journals. Panels for these tracks focus on identifying leading edge issues and topics.

 

  • Business Curriculum Development
  • Business Curriculum Assessment
  • Teaching Innovation
  • On-line Degree Programs and Execution
  • Data, Analytics and Statistics Instruction (DASI)

For more information on the conference and the submissions process, CLICK HERE.

 

See you in Washington, DC!

Buyer-Supplier Relationships

The Buyer-Supplier Relationships Track focuses on strategies and approaches to best manage the relationship with suppliers. Main themes within this track should deal with how to leverage the strengths of suppliers in a collaborative fashion in order to push competitive performance dimensions to new heights or limit the risk inherent in working with suppliers, as well as how to best develop, manage and utilize supply chain relationship structures, both at the strategic and operational levels. Topics of interest in this track include but are not limited to the following

  • relationship management
  • supply networks
  • strategic sourcing
  • supplier innovation
  • supplier risk.

Operations and Supply Chain Management in Emerging Economies

The Operations and Supply Chain Management in Emerging Economies track focuses on opportunities, challenges and issues of managing operations and supply chains in emerging economies as in Brazil, Russia, India, China (BRIC) and others developing countries. We welcome abstracts, papers, and proposals for panel discussions related to, but not limited to the following issues:

 

  • impacts of cultural, political, legal and institutional factors on operations / supply chain management
  • international comparison of operations / supply chain management practices and performance.
  • effects of power, trust and relationship commitment on supply chain integrations and collaborations
  •  cross national collaborations, learning, knowledge transfer, and innovations
  •  supply chain collaborations for sustainability involving companies in the emerging economies
  • cross border ecommerce supply chains involving emerging economies
  •  education and talent developments in operations / supply chain management
  • comparative studies about operations / supply chain management in developing and developed countries

 

This track also welcomes research topics about the interface of operations / supply chain management with other areas such as economics, marketing, finance, accounting, entrepreneurship, international business, organizational behavior, general management, information system, and etc.

 

Decision Analytics in Public Management and Governmental Operations

The Decision Analytics in Public Management and Governmental Operations track focuses on applying the concepts and tools of decision analytics in public service operations (including health and social care, e.g., housing and social care for the elderly), sustainability and public administration issues and governmental operations (including military procurement).

Call for Papers

Please join us in Washington D.C., for the 2017 Decision Sciences Institute Annual Conference! We are now accepting online submissions for the 48th Annual Meeting of DSI at the following URL… https://convention2.allacademic.com/one/dsi/dsi17/

A new account for the Conference Management System will be needed in order to submit.  Please visit http://dsi-annualmeeting.org for detailed submission information.

Full Paper Submission Deadline: May 15, 2017

Abstract, Panel Proposal, Workshop Proposal, and Award Competition Submission Deadline: May 30, 2017

There will be no extensions on these deadlines.

Research Tracks
We would like to invite full papers, abstracts, and panel proposal submissions focusing on developing new knowledge across all functional areas of business.  Papers in these tracks are ideally positioned for publication consideration by Decision Sciences Journal or other high impact business journals.  Panels in these tracks focus on identifying emerging research topics and methodologies.

Tracks:

Track Title Track Chair Email
Accounting Jiangxia (Renee) Liu Jiangxia.Liu@valpo.edu
Business Analytics Hong Guo hguo@nd.edu
  Xuying Zhao xuying.zhao.29@nd.edu
  Subhashish Samaddar s-samaddar@gsu.edu
Buyer/Supplier Relationships Stephan Wagner stwagner@ethz.ch
  Tobias Schoenherr schoenherr@broad.msu.edu
Consumer Behavior Rajesh Chandrashekaran rajeshc@fdu.edu
Decision Models in Operations Chin-Chung Kuo cxk162830@utdallas.edu
Decision Making in Practice Daniel Conway dconway@usf.edu
Decision Models in Sourcing and Logistics Laird Burns Laird.Burns@uah.edu
  Xiang Fang fangx@uwm.edu
E-Commerce Technologies and Strategies Shashank Rao shashank.rao@auburn.edu
Economics Trevor Hale halet@uhd.edu
Finance Salil Sarkar sarkar@exchange.uta.edu
Healthcare Management Shawnee Vickery vickery@broad.msu.edu
  Davood Golmohammdi Davood.Golmohammadi@umb.edu
Humanitarian Operations Gyöngyi Kovacs kovacs@hanken.fi
  Graham Heaslip graham.heaslip@gmit.ie
Information Security Kevin Scheibe kscheibe@iastate.edu
Information Systems and Technology Subodha Kumar subodha@tamu.edu
  Emre M Demirezen edemirezen@binghamton.edu
Innovation and New Product Development Soumen Ghosh soumen.ghosh@scheller.gatech.edu
Global Operations Management Jan Olhager jan.olhager@tlog.lth.se
Lean Manufacturing and Quality Rocky Newman newmanw@miamioh.edu
  Jaideep Motwani motwanij@gvsu.edu
Logistics and Transportation John Saldanha John.Saldanha@mail.wvu.edu
Managing Risk in Supply Chains Sanjay Kumar sanjay.kumar@valpo.edu
  Wolfgang Kersten logu@tuhh.de
  Srinivas Talluri talluri@msu.edu
Manufacturing Lusheng Shao lusheng.shao@unimelb.edu.au
Marketing and Social Media Natasa Christodoulidou nchristodoulidou@csudh.edu
OM/SCM in Emerging Economies Xiande Zhao xiande@ceibs.edu
Organizational Behavior Ashwini Gangadharan gangadharan@kutztown.edu
Project Management Gary Klein gklein@uccs.edu
Service Systems Joy M. Field fieldjo@bc.edu
Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility Sherry Jackson sjackson@uttyler.edu
  Venugopal Gopalakrishna-Remani venugopal@uttyler.edu
Strategic Management Trevor Hale halet@uhd.edu
Supply Chain and Revenue Management Sandun Perera sperera@umflint.edu
Technology and Innovation Caron St. John caron.stjohn@uah.edu

 

Education Tracks
We would like to invite full papers, abstracts, and panel proposal submissions focusing on developing new knowledge pertinent to the design, delivery, and evaluation of business curricula. Papers in these tracks are ideally positioned for publication consideration by Decision Sciences Journal of Innovative Education or other business education journals. Panels for these tracks focus on identifying leading edge issues and topics.

Track Title Track Chair Email
Business Curriculum Development Satish Nargundkar snargundkar@gsu.edu
Business Curriculum Assessment Satish Nargundkar snargundkar@gsu.edu
Teaching Innovation Ardavan Asef-Vaziri ardavan.asef-vaziri@csun.edu
On-line Degree Programs and Execution Rhonda Lummus rlummus@indiana.edu
  Robert Jacobs jacobs@indiana.edu
Data, Analytics and Statistics Instruction (DASI) Robert Andrews randrews@vcu.edu
  Kelli Keeling Kellie.Keeling@du.edu

 

 Workshops

The 2017 DSI Annual Meeting offers many professional development workshops intended to help attendees become better researchers, teachers, administrators, and professional service volunteers.  In addition to submitted workshops, highlighted below, are some of the exciting Workshops you not want to miss in Washington D.C.  Workshop leaders have been asked to make these sessions as interactive and hands-on as possible.

Workshop Title Coordinator Email
How to Review to Become and Editor for a Journal Cheri Speier-Pero cspero@broad.msu.edu
  Dan Guide drg16@psu.edu
How to Publish in Top Tier Journals Asoo Vakaria asoov@ufl.edu
  Srinivas Talluri Talluri@broad.msu.edu
Meet the Editors of DSI Journals Matthew Drake drake987@duq.edu
  Cheri Speier-Pero cspero@broad.msu.edu
Meet the Editors of Non-DSI Journals Dan Guide drg16@psu.edu
  Joe Sarkis jsarkis@wpi.edu
Publishing in DSJ Workshop Ram Narasimhan narasimh@broad.msu.edu
  Malhotra, Manoj malhotra@moore.sc.edu
Successful Strategies for Online Course Development in OM/SCM Kaushik Sengupta Kaushik.Sengupta@hofstra.edu
Presenting Business Analytic Results to Senior Managers Subhashish Samaddar s-samaddar@gsu.edu

 

Awards Competitions

We have five Awards Competitions at the 2017 Annual Meeting of DSI in Washington D.C.  The Best Paper Awards finalists will be chosen by the 2017 Track Chairs.  Four winners from each of the following categories will be announced at the 2017 Annual Meeting of DSI in Washington D.C.:

  • Best Theory-Driven Empirical Research Paper
  • Best Analytical Research Paper
  • Best Application Paper
  • Best Student Paper

Other Awards are directly submit-able. Please visit http://dsi-annualmeeting.org/competitions/ for more general information and detailed submission criteria for each award competition listed below:

Award Title Coordinator Email
Best Paper Awards David Peng Xpeng@bauer.uh.edu
Best Teaching Case Studies Award Nallan Suresh ncsuresh@buffalo.edu
Elwood S. Buffa Doctoral Dissertation Award Amrou Awaysheh awaysheh@iu.edu
Instructional Innovation Award Competition Pedro M. Reyes Pedro_Reyes@baylor.edu
  Mirjeta Beqiri beqiri@gonzaga.edu
Project Management Institute Case Competition Carla Messikomer Carla.Messikomer@pmi.org
  Gary Klein gklein@uccs.edu

 

Consortium:

We are again continuing the Pre-Proposal PhD, Pre-Proposal PhD, New Faculty Development, and Mid-Career Faculty Development Consortia in 2017.  Please visit http://dsi-annualmeeting.org/consortia/  for more information, and specific submission criteria for each consortia.  Below is the list of Consortia and Consortia Coordinators.

Title Coordinators Email
Post-Proposal PhD  Consortium Trevor Hale halet@uhd.edu
Pre-Proposal PhD Consortium Shailesh Kulkarni Shailesh.Kulkarni@unt.edu
  Debjit Roy debjit@iima.ac.in
New Faculty Development Consortium G. Keong Leong gkleong@csudh.edu
  Jennifer Blackhurst jvblackh@iastate.edu
Mid-Career Faculty Development Consortium Amit Eynan aeynan@richmond.edu
  Vijay Kannan vijay.kannan@usu.edu 

 

We look forward to seeing everyone at the DSI 2017 Annual Meeting in Washington DC!  Stay tuned for detailed information on various tracks, panels, workshops, keynotes, special events and activities!

Warmest Regards,

Kathryn Stecke, Ph.D.
Program Chair, 2017 Annual Meeting of the Decision Sciences Institute
KStecke@utdallas.edu
http://dsi-annualmeeting.org
Xuying Zhao, Ph.D
Associate Program Chair and Proceedings Editor, 2017 Annual Meeting of the Decision Sciences Institute
Xuying.Zhao.29@nd.edu
http://dsi-annualmeeting.org

Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility

The Sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility track focuses on research that increases our understanding of the areas of sustainability and corporate responsibilities. 

Key areas of interest within this track include (but are not limited to):

 

  • Social issues
  • Supply chains
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Triple bottom Line
  • Logistics
  • Organizational behavior
  • Global issues
  • Quality management
  • Interdisciplinary research
Decision Sciences Institute © 2017 Frontier Theme